Rice University logoWiess School of Natural Sciences
Rice University School Mathematics Project

RUSMP Announces the Rice University NSF Robert Noyce Master Teacher Fellows

The Rice University National Science Foundation (NSF) Noyce Master Teacher Fellows have started their five-year journey to improve secondary mathematics education in the Houston Independent School District (HISD).

Through funding from a $1.5 million grant awarded to RUSMP by the NSF, these exemplary HISD middle and high school educators will be supported as they serve as campus-based mathematics leaders.

To further their professional learning, the Fellows will take courses and participate in activities offered through RUSMP in collaboration with Rice's Tapia Center for Excellence and Equity and Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies and the nonprofit Advancement Via Individual Determination (AVID) program.

The current 15 Noyce Master Teacher Fellows are:

Charlie Burrus (South Early College High School)
Mario Carrillo Sanchez (Wisdom High School)
Edmonia Everett (Community Services High School)
Maren Haenicke (Northside High School)
Gail Hamilton (Pin Oak Middle School)
Federico Hernandez (Sam Houston High School)
Stacy Jaster (Clifton Middle School)
Alexander Mironychev (Challenge Early College High School)
Patricia McMorris (Milby High School)
Mark Jason Ondruch (Westside High School)
Ralph Polley (Houston Academy for International Studies)
Kamil Safin (North Early College High School)
Ruth Sanders (Navarro Middle School)
Fabiola Stroud (North Early College High School)
Lan Wu  (Lamar High School)

  NSF Rice Logo 2